Minutes Local Elected Officials Consortium (Consortium) Meeting WorkSource Southwest Georgia Conference Room, 75 West Broad Street, Camilla, Georgia

07/25/2023

The Consortium held its scheduled meeting, Tuesday, July 25, 2023 at the WorkSource Southwest Georgia Administrative Office in Camilla, Georgia.

Chair Connie Hobbs called the meeting to order at approximately 12:11 p.m.

Ms. Pascha Spence, Office Manager, WorkSource Southwest Georgia called roll. It was reported that there were 9 officials present, to include 3 proxy designations; and that **a quorum is declared.**

The following Consortium members were present:

- Chair Connie Hobbs, Baker County
- Commissioner Zippy Vonier, Thomas County
- Commissioner Paul Nagy Designated by Commissioner Denver Braswell, Colquitt
- Commissioner Dennis Brinson Designated by Commissioner Pete Stephens, Decatur County
- Commissioner Lorenzo Heard, Dougherty County
- Commissioner Benjamin Hayward, Mitchell County
- Commissioner Shelia Williams, Seminole County
- Commissioner Fred Dent, Worth County
- Ms. Sylvia Washington Designated by Mayor Edward Reynolds, City of Bainbridge

The following Consortium members were absent:

- Commissioner Conner Collins, Calhoun County
- Commissioner Phillip Drew, Grady County
- Commissioner Billy Mathis, Lee County
- Commissioner Wilber T. Gamble III, Terrell County
- Commissioner Hank Jester, Early County
- Mayor, Annette Morman, City of Baconton
- Commissioner Allen Worsley, Miller County

Staff members present:

- Ms. Melody Pierce, Executive Director
- Ms. Amanda Godwin, Operations Manager
- Mr. Jerry Chapman, Regional Planner
- Ms. Pascha Spence, Office Manager

Due to a quorum being declared Chair Hobbs proceeded with the order of business.

- 1. Chair Hobbs called for an approval of previous meeting minutes dated August 19, 2022. Commissioner Sheila Williams made a motion to approve said meeting minutes, seconded by Commissioner Paul Nagy. After no further discussion, the motion was unanimously approved.
- 2. Chair Hobbs called for an approval of the WDB PY 2023/FY 2024 Proposed Operating Budget. Commissioner Paul Nagy made a motion to approve said budget, seconded by Commissioner Benjamin Hayward. After no further discussion, the motion was unanimously approved.
- 3. Chair Hobbs called on Director Pierce for a brief overview and update of WorkSource Southwest Georgia and the Workforce Development Board. Director Pierce began by giving an update on WDB Board Meetings Information and WDB Board Membership adding that the 2023 Officers were Gabriel Lord- Chairman, LaTonja Dotson- Vice Chair and John Marria- Secretary. She stated the new WDB Appointments were Mr. Ron O'Meara- Southern Regional Technical College- Post Secondary Representative, Mr. Clay Pelham- Union Representative, Ms. Jayme Smith- Miller County, Susanne Reynolds- Early County, Ms. Tommie Beth Willis-Colquitt County. Director Pierce gave an update on the One-Stop Center, WIOA Performance, the Workforce Alliance Strategy and additional funding QUEST Dislocated Worker Grant.

The next Meeting is to be determined.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned. Motion by Commissioner Benjamin Hayward, seconded by Commissioner Fred Dent.